Culture, Listings, Migrants, Multiculture, Music

Jazz FM awards nominations

Taking place at Shoreditch Town Hall on International Jazz Day April 30th, the prize recognise the best emerging new artists, contemporary icons and established stars from across the worlds of jazz, soul and blues.


Natasha Thomas*


The nominations for the Jazz FM Awards 2019 were announced last week. This year’s list features the likes of titan saxophonist Wayne Shorter, Mercury Prize-shortlisted Sons of Kemet, trailblazing Chicago jazz drummer Makaya McCraven, popular neo-soul singer and producer Leon Bridges, and blues star Eric Bibb.

Once again, the UK’s celebrated emerging jazz scene features in full force with Nubya Garcia, Emma Jean-Thackray, Joe Armon-Jones, Moses Boyd, and hotly-tipped neo-soulstress Poppy Ajudha nominated alongside South London collective Steam Down, whose weekly residency in Deptford and spell-binding live shows have become influential in redefining the parameters of jazz for new audiences.

Kamasi Washington’s impromptu performance at the residency has also been nominated for the Live Experience of the Year Award.

John Coltrane’s posthumous Both directions at once: The lost album, which charted in the top 20 of the Official Album Charts last year, is up for ‘Album of the Year’ with stiff competition from the likes of Sons of Kemet’s Mercury-shortlisted Your queen is a reptile, Brownswood’s We Out Here compilation, and US saxophonist Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams for Vanished gardens.

The category, in addition to UK Jazz Act of the Year and Live Experience of the Year, will be decided by public vote. The night will also feature special performances from a host of celebrated artists, still to be revealed.

Jazz FM’s Head of Music and broadcaster Chris Philips will be hosting the Awards Ceremony with Jez Nelson once again.  Of the nominations list this year, Chris said: “This year’s Jazz FM Award nominees list reflects another tremendous year of growth and interest in the music. In particular it’s fantastic to see some of our formerly recognised emerging talent like Nubya Garcia and Shabaka Hutchings sharing nominations with some of the World’s best, testament indeed to a vibrant and strengthening jazz community and industry here in the UK.”

The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, PRS For Music Gold Award and Impact Award recipients will be announced ahead of the ceremony.

Previous winners of these special awards have included the likes of George Benson, Dame Cleo Laine, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Oscar-winning film director Damien Chazelle and the late Hugh Masekela.

More information and public voting:

* Natasha Thomas: Baxter PR

Share it / Compartir:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *